Beauty · Fragrance · Other

Scentsy Unboxing and First Impressions! (Blogmas Day 9)

When I was a kid, the Christmas decorations were stored in our basement on the higher shelves of the closet. And each year, I’d run downstairs, pull up a chair, and begin unstacking and unpacking all the wonderful things that hid inside. There was one box in particular, a brown cardboard one that had many years of contents crossed off the top flaps.

And I don’t remember what it was in there that smelled so good – maybe it was a candle, or a wreath made with spices, but nothing made me feel like it was Christmas more than opening that box and letting the smell of the holidays waft through the air.

Now that I’m grown and have my own home, I keep coming back to the idea that I’d like to have something as part of my own holiday tradition, a signature Christmas smell that will being back  the sweet nostalgic memories of Christmases that have passed,  and that signals the arrival of the next holiday season.

Seems easy enough. But then, my beautiful Christmas Cinnavanilla Soy Candle was discontinued. Boo. And while packing up my decorations at the end of last season, I was devastated to smash my beautiful ceramic red cardinal. It felt like all my Christmas traditions were falling apart!

So when my friend Tammy announced that she was selling Scentsy, I immediately got excited! I could get something decorative and Christmassy to replace Mr. Cardinal, and fill it with a signature scent to bring out at holiday time!

Now I’m sure you’re familiar with Scentsy but just incase – here’s the basics: Scentsy is a company that sells wickless candles or more precisely, it sells decorative warmers and scented bars of wax to melt in them.

 Because the wax is gently warmed rather than burned, it can hold more fragrance oil than a traditional candle. And, because there is no flame, there is no smoke, soot, or lead. Scentsy wickless candles are a safer alternative to traditional candles. (from Scentsy.com)

So, I went online and low and behold:

Scensty-Cardinal-Warmer
Well hello, Mr. Cardinal!

Luck would have it that there is a lovely Scentsy Warmer that looks quite similar to the poor smashed cardinal from last year! How could I possibly resist? This is fate, my friends. Mr. Cardinal and I are meant to be together.

Cardinal Unboxing 1Tammy is local and has pretty much every scent available to sniff, which is ideal since I’m a “try before I buy” kinda girl. In fact, this is kind of why I’ve always been hesitant about ordering from Scentsy. It might sound lovely, but how do you know what you’re gonna get? I can’t live my life with that kind of uncertainty! 

So I spent some serious time smelling her Scentsy stock and picked out a few that really spoke Christmas to me! Tammy was awesome enough to sell me this cute little guy that she had in stock and provide me with a little bit of wax in the fragrance “Silver Bells” to tide me over until my own order comes in next week.

Cardinal Scentsy Warmer
Oh hai.

I’ve been using my Mr. Cardinal Warmer for almost 48 hours and I’ve already had a visitor remark that my house smells amazing! “Silver Bells” was a seriously great choice. At first it’s hard to place what the smell is like, exactly because it’s not sticky sweet or heavily perfumey. The description nails it: Minty candy canes dance over warm and welcoming pear, all enveloped in a velvety blanket of caramel and vanilla sugar. Yum!

Aside from some momentarily impatience while I got the warmer out of the package and waited for Mr. Cardinal to heat up (I couldn’t tell if he was on or not…until I found the little orange indicator on his rear) it was a no brainer to set up. Take out of box. Place wax in warmer. Turn on. Enjoy! I’m super happy with my new festive addition and I can’t wait for my order to arrive so I can try out  the other scents!

Cardinal Scentsy Warmer 2
Mr. Cardinal can’t wait either.

If you’re in the London area and want to know more about Scentsy or shop their huge catalogue, click  here. Or pay Tammy a friendly visit on Facebook! She’d enjoy a friendly hello, and would love to answer your questions (much better than I can).

If you have done the Scentsy thing before and all this is old news – maybe you haven’t heard about all the new products they’re now offering! I just learned that you can now get everything from cleaning products to laundry products, all in their awesome fragrances. They even carry hand cream… tempting…so tempting! Have you guys tried any of this stuff? What did you think?

Leave a comment down below and let me know your thoughts! I love hearing from you guys!

~16 days and counting~

beauty and the beaver

Leave a Reply

