Beauty · Fragrance · Makeup · Nails · Skincare

What Not To Stuff Her Stocking With (Blogmas Day 5)

Also known as, “Don’t Waste Your Money On This” or, “Beauty Products to Avoid”.

What not to put in her stockingYou know the feeling – you’ve just returned home, triumphant and riding the thrill wave from your latest purchase. You get it home, you open it and apply it with all the excitement of kid at Christmas.

Annnnnd its a dud.

We’ve all been there, we’ve picked  the wrong shade or the makeup just didn’t live up to the hype.

I recently went through and organized my stash and this stuff didn’t make the cut! It won’t be used again and is on its way out the door, one way or another.  If only I still had the receipts… 😦

NYC Smooth Skin BB Creme 5 in 1 Skin Perfector in shade 01 Light: $6.99

NYC BB Creme

It claims to: “erase imperfections, minimize fine lines, smoothes skin and brightens skin for a luminous and natural looking make up”.

This isn’t a terrible product per say but it really doesn’t do much either.  I’ve tried it a few times and each time I’ve inspected myself in the mirror afterwards, trying to see a difference and I’m sorry to say that it’s so light and sheer that I might as well skip it altogether. I’ve tried it alone and over a primer and it has about the same effect.

So overall it was a waste of money.

Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Lipstick in shade 104 – $6.99

Rimmel Lipstick KateThis product has so much going for it that I really wanted to love it. The packaging is super cute, it smells great and the colour is beautiful! Unfortunately its not comfortable to wear. It makes my lips feel really dry. I compared it my my other blush shades and reviewed it further here.

Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner – $34.00

Benefit They're Real Push Up Liner fullHere’s the thing, its an eyeliner. And aside from the fancy packaging, it just lines your eyes, and that’s about it. Not only that, but for some reason the way the packaging works is kind of annoying – you have to twist it up from the bottom. And since its a thick gel, this means that I twist it a few times, and nothing happens. This is because the gel liner inside is moving at the speed of cold molasses.

The first time I did this, I twisted it, decided mine was broken so threw the lid back on and put it in my kit. Next time I opened it, the gel had finally made its appearance, but it was busting out of the applicator and I had to wipe it off and repeat the process.

So now my process is to twist it up, wait about 5 minutes and come back to it once its slowwwwly squeezed up, just so I can apply it. But its nothing remarkable and it was a total waste of $34.00 + tax.

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in 620 Coral Queen – $8.99

Rimmel LipstickThis lipstick is also drier than I would like, and uncomfortable to wear. It has such a pretty colour in the tube, but when it’s on it only emphasizes the cracks in my lips and then dries them to the point where they begin to flake. It’s not a pretty look! I compared this to my other coral lip shades here.

Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Stick shade 30 Coral Sheen – $10.99

When I swatch this on my hand I love it! It’s creamy, silky and smooth and feels amazing.  On my face, I find it hard to apply in such a way that it looks natural and not like I’ve drawn on my face with a marker like a five year old and can’t wash it completely off. I really want to love this, but I don’t. I would return it but I’ve had it more than 30 days. Boo. I’m likely going to give this to a friend and hope that they enjoy it more than I do!

Revlon Photo Ready Eye Art in 090 Burnished Bling – $11.99

Revlon Photoready Eye ArtThis is the weirdest product and I bought it for that reason, it seemed like something totally different and I wanted to try it out! Well here is the verdict – its not a great product. This product has two parts – a creamy shiny shadow and a glitter liner. For some reason the packaging says Lid + Liner + Lash: not sure what this has to do with lashes at all as there is no mascara component.
The cream eyeshadow isn’t totally opaque so it goes on pretty patchy. The more you rub it the sheerer it gets, and almost blends away if you rub it too much. Then the sparkly liner reminds me of glitter glue in that its goopy and clumpy and doesn’t apply evenly either. The result is a bit of a mess! But once it does dry down it doesn’t budge whatsoever. If someone where to want to buy this anyway, be prepared to really have to work to get it to look good. You should have a ton of makeup remover wipes handy.

Tarte Inner Rim Liner Inner Rim Liner – $24.00

Tarte Inner Rim LinerThis purchase was such a silly one. I really can’t say much about this product other than it does what it says it will do, but it’s so insanely overpriced that only a fool would buy it. I am that fool! I paid $24.00 + tax for this bad boy, and then I found a similar product that works the same for $3.00, which I compared and reviewed here. So there you have it, $24.00 + tax worth of regret in one tiny little pencil.

e.l.f. Shimmering Face Whip in 1207 Golden Peach – $1.00

elf Shimmering Facial WhipThis is actually a gorgeous colour. I just have no idea what I’m ever going to do with it as it’s really got a startling amount of sheen. I can’t use this as an eyeshadow (its much too sheer), and I would never use this as an all over face shimmer as it’s intended. Maybe it would look great on darker skin but on my fair skin its just too much. I did a first impressions post that included this product, you can find it here!

MAC Lipstick in Myth – $20.00

MAC lipstickI really hate this lipstick. I don’ t think I can hate any product more than this, it’s just that bad. It’s cakey, its totally opaque, it brings out the pink in my skin and somehow gives me the ruddy complexion of a drunken sailor. This is the product that killed MAC for me and made me move on to other makeup obsessions!

A part of me thinks that those that love MAC just haven’t experienced better stuff before! Don’t get me wrong – I have some MAC shadows that I love, but the best that I have from MAC are on par with other brands I own and love.

I reviewed this lipstick in this post in which I compared all my nudes lipsticks. It lost.

So there you have it friends, my current stash of regret. I still haven’t fully committed to throwing it out, so it may find a new home elsewhere or it may linger in my bag of other makeup products I hate for a while.

Do you have anything in your pile ‘0 makeup that you totally wish you hadn’t purchased? Leave a comment down below, I love hearing from you!

beauty and the beaver

One thought on “What Not To Stuff Her Stocking With (Blogmas Day 5)

Leave a Reply

