Other

Fay’s First Christmas (Blogmas Day 6)

K & I have been discussing the possibility of getting a dog for almost as long as we’ve been together. At first, we were uncertain as to where we’d end up, and you can’t travel easily with a dog. After we settled down in our first apartment the subject came up again, and this time we agreed that our apartment was much too small for  a dog. We also didn’t have much of a lawn and absolutely zero back yard. So that wouldn’t be fair to our new family member!

Well, time passed and we purchased our first house, with a fully fenced yard and a wide front porch for lounging in the sunshine. What excuse did we have now? Life was busy, we were renovating, and K was spending hours each evening studying to upgrade his credentials at work.

Well, it came to a point where I couldn’t bear the wait any longer. I started visiting the Humane Society and although I met the sweetest animals that pulled at my heartstrings, I couldn’t seem to find the one that was meant to be ours.

Well, after many emails and the filling out of forms, I received a request from Canine Connect A Care in regards to a dog that had become available.

1965009_969758082777_1008038119737144068_nI forwarded the request to K at work, expecting him to resist the idea altogether but he unexpected agreed to bring her home! Fay came to us February 15th of this year right in the middle of a ridiculous snowstorm. We are now just shy of 10 months with her and I couldn’t be any happier with our decision to adopt her!

As this will be Fay’s first Christmas with us, I thought it’d be nice to do something special to commemorate the occasion! As you may have seen in my post earlier this week, one of our traditions is to collect a special pair of ornaments each year to hang on the tree!

This year, I’m making ornaments of Fay’s paw print! I saw the idea on the Crafty Morning website and knew immediately I wanted to try it!

I cut the recipe down as I knew I only really wanted one ornament – so I mixed 1/2 cup white flour, 1/2 cup salt, and 1/4 cup cold water in a bowl and mixed until it made a dough. Then I spread out the dough and cut into circles using the rim of a drinking glass. Fay didn’t necessarily love the process of getting her paw’s dirty (by pressing them into the dough) but she handled it like a champ! Then I popped them in the oven @200 degrees for 2 hours.

I’m planning on decorating them with gold spray paint to go with my tree’s decor, and hanging it on the tree with an old tag that Fay no longer wears. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

~Update!~

So far they turned out pretty good – however I did bake them for 2 hours and the backs of them still seem kinda raw. I may put them in again before painting them, or I may just finish them up and call it a day!

What do you guys think? Was this a Pinterest Win? Let me know in the comments down below, I love hearing from you guys!

IMG_3958

beauty and the beaver

7 thoughts on “Fay’s First Christmas (Blogmas Day 6)

    1. Thanks Chloe! I’m sure we will have a great Christmas – we’re already enjoying spoiling Fay with holiday treats! Have a great Christmas too! (I’m checking out your blog too – Blogmas awesomeness all around!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

