Beauty · Makeup

My Current Mascara Collection, Swatches & Reviews

Mascaras

It’ s an absolute beauty staple. It’s the one thing I wear, if I only have time for one thing. Many of us won’t leave the house without it!

Mascara was the first thing I purchased as a young teen, and looking back was probably the only successful look I pulled off between the ages of 13 -17.

I’ve tried a ton of mascaras over the years. And I’ve had my favourites, but it seems that each time I try a new one, I learn a bit more in terms of just how fabulous my lashes can get! Sometimes the answer is: No more. Your lashes can get no more fabulous, so stop trying.

But every now and then I stumble upon something that actually makes me say a little, quiet “wow” into the mirror  and I get the joy of making my way through the day feeling like I’m just basking in womanly radiance. It’s amazing that a $10.00 tube of starchy ink has that power, isn’t it?

Now I’m not one to keep every beauty product if I don’t love it and I honestly can’t recall all the brands I’ve tried. However, I do currently have 5 Mascaras in my collection, which I will happily review and swatch for you!

First up is a mascara I’ve been using for years. The Rimmel London Lash Accelerator Mascara was launched back in 2010 and I’ve been using it since about that time, which is actually hard for me to wrap my mind around! I’ve probably purchased about 6 – 7 tubes of this stuff in “003 Extreme Black” over the years, and I’ve really loved it! I initially bought it because my eyelashes are very fair and short, which gives the gorgeous effect of not really existing at all. My poor, sparse lashes! The hope was that this would change my life and give me long, feminine lashes!

no mascara
My poor, sparse lashes, all naked and bare

This stuff contains a “grow-last complex” which is supposed to help sparse lashes grow longer and thicker. I can honestly say that I have not noticed any effects of that sort, but here is what I have noticed: This stuff separates and defines my lashes in a very natural way. It makes me feel like I’ve got lashes that are much longer than they are IRL, and they never feel clumpy or false with this stuff. It’s a really nice look, but nothing dramatic. For me, it lasts all day but wipes off easily with makeup remover. It retails for about $10.00 but often goes on sale for $7.99 which is when I swoop in and scoop it up.

Lash Accelerator Wand

Lash Accellerator
Pretty natural, nothing crazy here…

So why did I deviate from a brand that I’ve devoted my eyelashes to for so long? A sale did it for me, and the sale was on the Covergirl Super Sizer Mascara in Very Black. This was the first mascara in a long time that I actually noticed a difference when using. It’s much more dramatic than my Rimmel Accelerator and still separates and defines my lashes really well. What do you think – can you tell the difference? ]

Covergirl Super Sizer wand

Covergirl the Super Sizer
Pretty Decent, right?

This stuff has the strongest smell out of all of my mascaras but once dried down, the smell is gone. It’s also a little harder to take off, meaning I end up with mascara smeared all over my face before I eventually get it completely removed. This sells again for about $10.00 a tube and since its pretty new and I’ve only had it in my arsenal for a short period of time, I’m truthfully not sure if it goes on sale often or if I just scooped it up at an introductory price when it first hit shelves.

Since I was still riding the thrill wave of my last mascara purchase, when I saw the Maybelline the Falsies Push Up Drama on sale for less than $8.00, I had to try it too.  If you haven’t seen the ad for this, its truly convincing. This one I’m not going to fully review as I did one of those right here. Here’s what it looks like on compared to the others.
Maybelline the Falsies wand

Maybelline the Falsies
Drama! 

The last drugstore mascara in my stash is a good ‘old Maybelline Great Lash in Very Black. And by good ‘ol I mean… it’s OKAY. This mascara isn’t great and I have no idea why its been hailed as an icon except that its been on the market for so long and comes in at a great price point, usually less than $5.00 and sometimes even less.

 

As is the case with many of us, this was the first brand of mascara I used as a teen and since then have worn the regular and waterproof versions many a time!  But it really doesn’t do a ton for me. The waterproof version goes on very lightly and barely colours my lashes, and the regular version  has a tendency to migrate down my face whenever it feels so inclined. Not a great look.

Maybelline Great Lash wand

Maybelline Great Lash
Little baby wisps – barely any coverage and not very black for a mascara that calls itself “very black”

I truthfully only keep this because its the only waterproof mascara that I own. Reason being – I never enjoy waterproof versions as much as the regular stuff, the formulas just aren’t as smooth. I like to use this as a final coat after my better, more voluptuous mascaras have done their work! In my mind, it seals everything in so I get the best of both worlds.

The last mascara in my collection is the Younique Moodstruck 3D Fibre Lashes, which is in no sense whatsoever either drugstore or department store. This is something that is available only though a direct seller, just like Jamberry or Scentsy, or Avon.

This is the famous one that first put Younique on my radar,  that comes with two tubes – one for the mascara transplanting gel and one for the fuzzy 3D Fibres. The concept is simple: Use the mascara, and then while it’s wet, swipe the 3D Fibres onto your lashes. The fibres stick and create crazy volume and length, and then just top it off with another coat of the mascara to seal the fuzzies in!


This one has a really mild smell, which is nice and a really high price tag, which is not so nice. I can’t believe I spent $30.00 on a mascara! But it is the most dramatic of my mascaras and I have to say that I do enjoy using it, especially for occasions in which I want to really emphasize my eyes.

Younique Moodstruck 1

Younique Moodstruck
Definitely a bold look – but is it a good look? 

I have noticed little bits of fibre beneath my eyes that needed tidy up after application, and a little bit throughout my day which kind of killed my developing feelings for this mascara. I actually have a lot of mixed emotions about the way this mascara looks when applied. I like the length I get but the spidery look has never been my thing.

None of these mascaras irritate my eyes  – all of them withstand my allergies for the most part. I am pretty careful about wiping my watery eyes throughout the spring and fall, and they still manage to last through the day.

Other mascaras I’ve tried and stopped using:

  • Covergirl’s Lashblast
  • BadGal: Benefit
  • Loreal Voluminous
  • Maybelline New York Volum’ Express

Now, here’s the thing with Mascara – it works so differently depending on what you’ve got to work with! I think of it almost like asking what is the best bra size, and the answer is whatever fits you the best. Its similar with mascara in the sense that the fuller or thinner your lashes are, their dryness or oiliness, their length and their natural curl will all impact how the formula adheres to your lashes and the overall effect the mascara has.

So I’ve taken this one step further and polled my girlfriends with the fabulous lashes – here are some of their favourites as well:

  • Gosh Copenhagen: $10.00 – $14.00
  • Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express: $12.00
  • L’oreal Telescopic (in carbon black): $11.00
  • Bad Gal Lash:  $26.00
  • Lancome Grandiose: $35.00

Did you see any of your favourites on this list? Do you have a product you swear by? Let me know in the comments down below! I love hearing from you!

beauty and the beaver

Leave a Reply

