Beauty · Makeup

Lipstick Showdown: The Pinks!

I really only own one kind of pink lipstick: the hot pink!

Lipstick Showdown - The PinksThis is a family of four pinks, two of which are non identical twins.

The first is another Maybelline Colorwhisper. See my post on my other Colorwhisper shade here. This guy is called A Plum Prospect (100) and is in my purse all the time. Even when my purse gets downsized to a clutch this makes the cut, and the reason why is this: This is the easiest to wear, non sticky, comfortable lip product I’ve tried.

Maybelline Color Whisper A Plum ProspectReally this is something between a lipstick and a balm, with subtle, sheerer coverage than a lipstick but a nice little pop of colour and moisture. What I like the most about this product is that its super easy to put on (no mirror necessary) and it always makes me feel pulled together and pretty. High five for Maybelline for making this product! I will re buy this again and again.

This is Maybelline Color Sensational in 875 Wild Rose which on the skin is pretty much the lipstick version of A Plum Prospect. It’s a great pop of colour, creamy and pigmented, and doesn’t dry out my lips throughout the night. A great one for sure.

Maybelline Colorsensastional Wild Rose 875
I tried to get a fair representation of how this colour comes across and failed miserably. Its got a much bluer undertone and looks much more hot pink in real life. Someone needs to teach this girl how to use photoshop properly!

But then I came across this Covergirl Colorlicious lipstick and Lip Lava gloss that takes this bold pink look to a whole other level. I bought these two at the same time, they were part of an isle display at the drugstore and the hue of these lippies is just impossible to miss!

This Colorlicious Lipstick in 325 Spellbound has got a lot more plum in it than Wild Rose, and once I top it off with my Covergirl Lip Lava (in 850 Look It’s Lava!) I’m definitely set for a night out. This gloss is super iridescent to the point of almost seeming holographic! I love the way the fuchsia looks with my skin tone, it really just pops!

Covergirl Colorlicious in 325 Spellbound

I wore the lipstick to the office and got tons of compliments, (even a co worker asking for the name so she could buy it herself!) and tucked the gloss in my purse to add later on for a dinner party afterwards. A perfect daytime to evening look!

I will warn you that this lipstick does not come off easily, I used a couple makeup wipes before bed taking this off and still woke up with pink lips!

Aside from that, the only other gripe I have with this lip colour is that it does have a makeup-y smell to it which I don’t love. It’s really not to bad though and honestly I forget about it pretty quickly as I’m wearing it.

Both formulas are similar in terms of smooth application, pigmentation and texture.

DSCN2684
Covergirl Colorlicious 325 Spellbound on the Left, Maybelline Colorsensational 875 Wild Rose on the Right.

However, I am absolutely in love with the plum-y fuchsia colour of Spellbound, and the fact that its so easy amp it up for a bolder look with the gloss, well…this one is easy.

The winner of the pinks is… Covergirl Colorlicious in 325 Spellbound!

Has anyone with a different skin tone than mine tried either of these lippies? What did you think?

Leave a comment down below – I love hearing from you guys!

beauty and the beaver

Leave a Reply

