Beauty · Makeup

Tarte Inner Rim Liner Review & Dupe

I know, I know!

Tarte Inner Rim Liner doesn’t exactly fit the mold of what this blog is about. But hang tight, there is method to my madness, I promise!

I bought this liner on a whim at Sephora months ago and I admit, it gives a really nice eye-brightening effect when used on the inner rim of your lower lash line. I was going for a doe eye’d effect and I’d just heard that this existed through my trusty friend, YouTube. This is never something I’d go looking for, but when I happened to see it in store,  I got that queasy gut feeling that if I didn’t buy it I’d regret it for the rest of my life. And never have doe-eyes.  And that would be tragic!

You’ve probably figured out that I like cheap. But what I really like is quality, and every now and then I do like to spoil myself with a little something special, something that will be indulgent and luxurious to use, something that will make me have a little skip in my step.

Friends, this is not that product.

Here is why:

I picked up this Rimmel London Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer in the shade 213 In The Nude at Dollarama for $3.00. And here’s how they compare: its pretty much the exact same product.
DSCN2535
Both are creamy and stick to my inner waterline. Both twist up to expose more product, both are ophthalmologist tested.

DSCN2536The Rimmel London Exaggerate Definer has the addition of a smudger on one end, should you like to use it, and a sharpener built into the handle, which comes in very handy to make a clean point again on your liner once its worn down a bit.

I admit, the Tarte Inner Rim Liner wins for better graphics and use of fonts on the label. But it also retails for $24.00 plus tax. 

DSCN2537

I swatched them for you, and then did the wipe test with my other hand. Neither product budged or smeared in the slightest.

The only difference as far as I can tell is that they are slightly different shades of nude. Worn on the inner corner of your eye,  I truly can’t see how this makes any difference whatsoever.

So the real lesson here friends is that you must splurge and pamper yourself, spend it where it counts and try to get the kind of quality, pigmentation, creaminess, shade, etc that just isn’t available elsewhere.

Tarte Inner Rim Liner TipsAnd for this Tarte Inner Rim Liner I’m it will make it onto my future list of Products I Regret Buying.  (Can I get my $21.00 plus tax back please?)

How about you? Have you ever splurged on something special only to find it elsewhere for a fraction of the cost?

beauty and the beaver

 

Leave a comment