Beauty · Makeup

Joe Fresh Smokey Eye Palette First Impressions & Swatches

So recently  I was perusing the beauty isles at SDM,  taking in all the new Christmas Release palettes and gift boxes that have just hit shelves when suddenly I spotted something very unusual.

On end cap at about mid level was a display of Joe Fresh makeup palettes and gift sets. For those of you unacquainted with the brand, its the Loblaw’s Grocery Chain “store brand”. How strange to find this in a Shopper’s Drug Mart! I questioned the salesperson who said that they were pretty new – lots of excitement around the addition of Joe Fresh to the Shopper’s Drug Mart collection of beauty brands.

This teeny tiny palette is so cute – it actually looks just like a matchbook! It would be great to toss in an overnight bag or in your purse for a nice selection of five shimmery gold toned shades on hand. I picked it up for $5 and went on my merry way!

Back in the car I took a look online – not a lot of info about this product at all! However,  I did see a some awesome stuff on Twitter for similar shades from Joe Fresh’s makeup line which confirmed that I might have found a hidden gem!

Swatchy swatchy!!

Joe Fresh Smokey Eye Palette swatched

Ok, so I’m not going to lie, my first impression is that this shadow didn’t wow me. These swatches are two – three swipes,  and I made a couple passes across my skin and really had to blend out the initial patchyness to make these swatches.  Not terribly bad by any means,  but definitely not the quality that other shadows seem to have based on the Twitter reviews.

I also did a test wipe  on my skin and literally all the colour came off on my hand. Arm = bare, hand = mess.

Joe Fresh Smokey Eye Palette mess

I do love the colours and I am absolutely in love with the rose gold (at the very bottom). I’m going to give these guys a whirl with my Urban Decay Primer Potion underneath and see how they hold up!

~Update~

I realized today that the rose gold shadow that I loved so much in the Joe Fresh Gold Smokey Eye Palette looked similar to something in Urban Decay’s Naked 3 Palette so I compared the two,  and lo and behold:

Joe Fresh Smokey Eye Palette vs Urban Decay Naked 3
Check out just how similar these two shadows are! Top shade is Urban Decay’s Trick from the Naked 3 Palette. Bottom shade is from Joe Fresh’s Smokey Eye Palette – the rose gold shade in the right/top corner. While the other shadows in the Joe Fresh mimic the tones in UD’s Naked 3, this is the only dupe.

Has anyone else tried these shadows or others from Joe Fresh? This is my first exposure to the brand and I’d love to hear what your experiences have been like!

beauty and the beaver

One thought on “Joe Fresh Smokey Eye Palette First Impressions & Swatches

Leave a Reply

