Beauty · Makeup · Nails · Skincare

Top 10 Simple Drugstore Beauty Must – Haves

Ok, peeps!

It’s not like I have a vast collection of makeup – in fact I likely have more than the average girl, but nothing like the absurd collections I’ve seen the makeup guru’s of YouTube show off. Regardless, I’ve narrowed down my stash to 10 Simple Drugstore Beauty Must-Haves: the stuff I can’t live without!

Top 10 Simple Drugstore Beauty Must-Haves

This list is stuff I’ve either purchased and then repurchased, or my current favourite that I just keep reaching for every time I’m getting ready to leave the house.

So without further ado, let’s get to the good stuff:

1. Jergens BB Body Perfecting Skin Cream

This stuff is awesome! This is my 3rd bottle I’ve purchased in the last two years.  I love the creamy texture, the way it rubs into my skin fully, with no greasy after feel. It has this crazy unusual nude color to the lotion but don’t worry – it doesn’t color your skin or stain your clothing. I’ve used the lotion thats for both Fair and for Medium-Deep Skin tones and noticed no difference in its ability to moisturize and make your skin feel fantastic, and quite honestly no real difference in the actual colour of the lotion. Bonus, it has a really great smell that is unlike anything else I’ve used. It’s a scent I still look forward to enjoying each time I apply this, 2 years into being a daily user.

2. Garnier BB Cream Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector

Total mouthful of a name, but decent product! For its price this BB Cream has a lot going for it, enough that I reach for it anytime I leave the house and decide that rocking my bare face is not an option. The coverage is sheer but is able to counteract the redness I tend to get in my skin as the day wears on. In my opinion you’re going to need a little powder to set this stuff but once you do, you’re going to have a great, natural finish. Read my full review on Garnier BB Cream Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector here.

3. essence All About Sunrise eyeshadow Palette

I bought this shadow on a whim at Shopper’s Drug Mart about a month ago and have enjoyed using the shimmery, creamy shadows. I will admit they seem a bit powdery, but they really seem to last. I love the vanilla shade for highlighting and the golden, peach and nude shades get regular usage as well.

UPDATE: I noticed under the florescent lighting in office bathroom (always flattering lighting in these places, I know) that I’m getting a ton of fallout throughout the day from this shadow. Not Cool. This may be bumped off the must have list… I’m going to give it another chance and keep you posted. 

4. N.Y.C Smooth Mineral Loose Blush Powder

This is in the shade Almost Apricot and I’ve certainly used this blush aplenty over the years that I’ve owned it. I find that its easy to pick up too much colour on the brush, but after a quick tap on the side of the container, this blush swirls onto my skin smoothly and looks really natural. Its buildable, too – I’ve used this for more dramatic looks as well! This blush is a no-fail application – if I know I’m pressed for time, I’ll reach for this one knowing that it will blend in easily and seamlessly in no time.

5. Annabelle Liquid Eyeliner

I’ve tried a few eyeliners but this is the one I’ve come back to time and time again. Its got a soft, flexible felt tip. For some reason I find I have a lot of control with application, perhaps its the length of the wand, maybe the shape just fits nicely in my hand… either way, I’ve rocked quite a few cat eyes with this liner, and also worn it with a more natural, daytime look. This stuff lasts well and comes off easily with makeup remover.

6. Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark-Circle Roller

Another of Garnier’s Skin Renew Products! I have used this roller for years under my eyes and LOVE the way it looks! It doesn’t settle into the fine lines and creases and makes my dark circles all but disappear. This is one of those products I always repurchase when it’s on sale so I have a backup waiting for me in the drawer, I never want to run out of it completely.

7. Covergirl The Super Sizer Mascara

This one recently bumped Rimmel’s Lash Accelerator out of the running as my favourite mascara! I really like the length and separation I get with this mascara – its one product that made me step back and say – wow! when I first used it. Love this stuff.

8. Revlon Lash Curler

It’s just a lash curler. But lash curling is important – it makes a huge difference and this one does the job.

9. Quo Nail Polish Remover Dip

Nail polish remover dips are great for getting rid of stubborn polish. If you’ve never used one, a dip is a jar with a sponge in the middle with a spot just big enough to stick your finger. The nail polish remover works its magic on your polish and the sponge helps to wipe it away. Great!

10. Maybelline Moisture Extreme Lipstick in B365 Bold Blush

This stuff has been discontinued, and I’ve yet to find a lipstick that truly replaces this one. It’s a gorgeous neutral shade, its moisturizing, and it had the teeniest bit of shimmer to it. I get compliments when I wear this, and I’m sad that one day I will have to toss it.

So there it is! The drugstore beauty stuff I can’t live without! What about you – what is your favourite drugstore item that you just have to keep repurchasing for your stash?beautyandthebeaver.wordpress.com

One thought on “Top 10 Simple Drugstore Beauty Must – Haves

Leave a Reply

