Beauty · Skincare

My Simple Skincare Routine

My Simple Skincare RoutineRaise your hand if you’re a sensitive skin beauty!

This girl is, and I can’t tell you how many products I’ve been through over the years trying to find the right combination that works for my sensitive skin. It took me about three years of experimentation before I stumbled on a winning trio of products that works wonderfully for me! This is not a plug for a certain company, as none of these products belong to the same product line. This is just what I happened to try at one particular moment in my life, and saw such great results that I’ve never deviated from this routine!

My skin has always been sensitive, and relatively normal – a little oilier in the summer months, a little dryer in the winter months. I absolutely have to use a good moisturizer to counteract the tightness I feel after washing my face. I get a little redness every now and then, and I’ve always had issues with acne since I was a teenager.

Until I found 3 simple products that work in a way that even I don’t understand.

I started using Olay Regenerist Micro- Sculpting Cream a few years back. I had previously been using an anti-acne moisturizer from Clean and Clear and I wasn’t finding that my breakouts were improving, and I still felt a little tightness in my skin leading me to believe I needed to step it up in the moisturizing department and try something a bit more intense.

My Simple Skincare Routine

I first tried the Olay Regenerist Micro Sculpting Cream after coming across a great coupon – otherwise I’m not sure I would have tried it, as it retails for about $35 which is about 3X what I’m used to spending on this kind of thing. (I also bought into the marketing that claimed that this product performed better than similar $100 moisturizers…that kind of makes this a great deal, right?)  I splurged and discovered that something about this product really agrees with my skin. My skin felt balanced and not overly greasy, and stayed that way all day. I’ve found this at Costo – its about $48 for two which is a great savings in itself, but sometimes the two pack goes on sale for $44 or $39 which is amazing!

Next, while trying to solve the mystery of my poor, acne riddled skin, I came across some info online suggesting that a toner may help with balancing the PH of my skin. I picked up this travel pack of products at The Body Shop from their line of Aloe products, partly because it contained a trial sized toner, but lots of other goodies for me to try out including a night cream and day cream. Well, the other stuff in the bag got used up and tossed out but the toner was something that stuck in my routine! I started to see a reduction in the amount of blemishes and the frequency of major outbreaks seemed to diminish to about once a month (the joys of being a woman). This retails for $13 and is on sale right now at thebodyshop.ca for $7.80. This goes on sale regularly, I like to stock up when they have the buy one, get 2 free sale going on!

My Simple Skincare Routine

The true magic, and what I believe what made the biggest impact on my skin came as a happy accident into my life. I was at a friend’s house overnight and forgot my usual cleanser. They suggested I try something they had picked up at Kiehl’s – Facial Fuel Energizing Face Wash. 

My Simple Skincare RoutineWell, I used it and saw NEXT DAY results in terms of my breakouts fading. Its been about three years and I’ve never looked back or tried another cleanser. It retails for $13.00 at Kiehls.ca for the regular size, and $24.00 for the giant bottle that I buy. This stuff lasts forver – my last bottle I’ve had for about a year and is less than half gone.  As part of thier men’s collection, I guess it’s a bit unusual to recommend this as part of a beauty routine, but this stuff really works so well for my skin! Now I normally get about 2 – 3 pimples in total per month, and I usually go a few weeks at a time with totally clear skin. Amazing!

My Simple Skincare Routine

What do you use as part of your day-to-day skincare routine? Do you have a product thats totally changed your skin?  Let me know in the comments down below!

love, beauty & the beaver

Leave a Reply

