Beauty · Nails

Best Top Coat on the Market?

I was out on an unrelated quest at the Winners at Argyle Mall, minding my own business and waiting patiently in line when something caught my eye.

To be fair, something always catches my eye when in line at Winners, I mean – those store merchandisers  know their stuff!! It’s usually something small and cute, something extra and most unnecessary, and usually the kind of thing that gives a much-needed little lift to your day should you decide to take it home and make it yours.

Now, I am not one of those girls with the resources or space to have a wall o’ nail polish in my house, or a room devoted to beauty stuff. And the last thing I needed was another bottle of something cool and neat to add to my collection, I have lots of cool and neat in my life and most of it newly acquired at that.

HOWEVER.

If you spend any time at all online looking at nail stuff you’ll know that one topcoat stands out among the others as a cult favourite. It’s recommended so often and is the staple topcoat in so many YouTube videos that I knew the bottle and label by sight at a distance, despite having never actually encountered one in the real world.

So there it was, sitting among the other shiny pretty things in the lineup to checkout! Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat!

Now I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a bottle of this stuff to try out for months but have never come across it here in London. So obviously I snapped it up, for about $6.

If you haven’t heard the buzz, here’s the claim (taken right from the website at seche.com):

Seche Vite’s dry fast top coat is specially formulated to penetrate through nail lacquer to the base coat forming a single solid coating over the nail plate for a much more durable finish. Guaranteed not to yellow while leaving nails silky, stronger and resistant to chipping and peeling.

I can’t wait to give this stuff a run for its money and see how it truly holds up! Will keep you posted.

Also snagged a super cute collage-style frame for my desk at work. You can really tell who has my heart, can’t you?


~Update! ~

So I’ve tried Seche Vite two different ways now.

First, I used it as a topcoat over Jamberry Lacquer in Red Current, did some fancy footwork with a matte topcoat and sealed the tips again with Seche Vite.

IMG_4426

Lots of steps but I got 4.5 days of un chipped wear from it! Impressive for someone that usually gets chips day 2 or 3 at the most! Aside from the extended life of my manicure, I noticed a few times how my nails felt stronger. The tips didn’t bend in the slightest and I didn’t have any broken nails while I had this manicure!! That in itself is exciting – I can’t tell you the time and money I’ve spent on nail strengtheners that made little to no impact!

Here we are at day 3, no chips at all peeps! Amazing!
Here we are at day 3, no chips at all peeps! Amazing!

So have any of you guys tried Seche Vite before? How well did it work for you?

FullSizeRender (1)

Leave a Reply

